Maryland provides for two different kinds of divorce. A limited divorce is not permanent and does not provide for a final division of property. It also does not allow for remarriage. It is essentially a court-governed separation. The grounds for a limited divorce include the following:
An uncontested divorce is one where there are no issues for a judge to decide. The parties have already entered into a property separation agreement, or they have no children and no property. The only decree sought is the divorce. With the assistance of Mr. Zerivitz, an uncontested divorce can be obtained quickly at a very reasonable cost.
In the Baltimore metropolitan area, a final judgment of divorce could be granted within 90 to 120 days if your spouse is cooperative and there are no issues for a judge to decide. Only a short hearing is required. If there is mutual consent of the parties a divorce can been granted in a shorter period.
Marital property includes most property acquired by you or your spouse during your marriage, regardless of the name in which the property is titled.
Non-marital property includes property:
Maryland is an equitable division state. This means that if you and your spouse do not reach a settlement agreement, the court divides your marital property in a manner that it deems fair. The court considers a number of factors in making this determination, including the following:
The cost of a divorce depends entirely on the complexity of the issues involved: the higher the complexity, the higher the cost. I always strive to help my clients resolve their cases in the most effective and efficient manner possible.
Even if your divorce is amicable, your interests conflict with your spouse’s interests. For that reason, an attorney cannot ethically represent you both. If you decide to rely on your spouse’s attorney, you are on your own. Your spouse’s attorney’s allegiance is only to your spouse. Given the high stakes at risk in divorce proceedings, you should secure your own legal counsel to protect your interests.
Maryland law sets forth child support guidelines that judge’s are to use in calculating each parent’s child support obligations. These mandatory guidelines take into account many factors, including the following:
Unless you and the other parent agree to a longer period of time, child support obligations end when the child reaches 18 years old (the age of majority). Your child support obligations continue until the child graduates from high school or reaches 19 years old, whichever occurs first.
The child support order should establish which parent is responsible for maintaining health insurance for the child. The order should also address how to divide uninsured medical expenses.
No. The right to visit your child is separate from your obligation to pay child support. If the other parent is not paying his or her child support, you must go through the appropriate enforcement channels. If you withhold visitation, you could be held in contempt for not obeying the court’s visitation order.
No. In Maryland, the right to child support is a right of the child, not a right of his or her parent. A parent cannot waive the right to receive child support.